Brand Names Don’t Matter To Me

To me, brand names simply don’t matter. I just care how it looks. This conversation happens all the time for various pieces of clothing and it goes like this:

Someone: “Oh, I really like your (insert clothing item). Where did you get them?!”

Me: “(Insert something like Target or a thrift store)”

Someone: “Really? They look more expensive than that.” or “I didn’t know you could get those there…”

taylor-jacob-gq

It just goes to show you, just because you spend more doesn’t mean you get more. Most things don’t have logos on them anyway. Take a suit for example. Suits don’t have logos. No one is going to know what brand it is. They are just going to see how you look in it. It all comes back to fit in the end.

I’ll tell you right here, this is my list of most shopped places:

  • Thrift stores (Goodwill, Savers, ARC)
  • H&M
  • Target
  • The Tie Bar

I’d guess that 95% of my wardrobe comes from those places. When you know what you’re looking for and you have the patience, you don’t have to spend ungodly amounts on your clothes. It’s simply knowing where to look and what to look for. And I hope you’ve learned a lot of that though Up Your Fashion Game, as well.

As always, ask any questions in the comments below or tell me what you’d like me to cover. I respond to everyone.

 

“That’s not to say you shouldn’t invest in your clothes. But men with real style know when to splurge—and where to save.” – GQ

 

5 thoughts on “Brand Names Don’t Matter To Me

  1. Do you tailor your shirts if you got it from H&M? The cutting is already slim compared to the other stores i got like topman, but it still feels baggy for me at the torso and arms even if its slim fit lol.
    I’ve watched your videos on DIY tailoring shirts, is the stitching strong enough for washing machines? does it last long enough compared to the original flat felled seam it came with?

    • I tailor every shirt I get haha. (Almost) Nothing is ever going to be perfect off the rack. And yes, the stitching is perfectly strong to withstand washing machines. I’ve never had a problem. Thanks for watching/reading!

      -Zack

      • I see, thanks for you tips! I’ve got so many baggy shirts i’ve been wearing and some of them left hanging in my closet, time for some hands-on now!

Leave a Reply

