The Dopp Kit

What is a Dopp kit, and what should you have in yours?

Dopp Kit

A Dopp kit is a small toiletry bag that is used to carry men’s grooming tools and products while traveling. They are usually made out of leather or canvas and have a zipper on top. 

Tip: Get one that will stand up to some abuse (as everything does while traveling) and you won’t need to buy another one for years or ever.

To give you a brief history of Dopp kits, the leather case for carrying toiletries was invented in 1919 by a German immigrant leatherworker named Charles Doppelt. They became popular after they were adopted by the army in WWII and given to every soldier.

Everyone is going to have their own list of things to have in their Dopp kit, but here’s a list to get you started

  • Toothbrush, toothpaste, and floss
  • Whatever hair product(s) you use
  • Deodorant
  • A comb if you use one
  • Cologne
  • Whatever you use to shave (razor and shaving cream, trimmer, ect)
  • Face wash
  • Nail clippers and cuticle scissors
  • Tweezers in case you get a splinter and/or for unibrow defense
  • Chapstick
  • Shampoo and conditioner if you’re picky about what you use
  • Lotion
  • Pain relievers
  • Band-aids

Another tip: Put your liquids in a small baggie in your Dopp kit just in case something leaks.

Up Your Fashion Game next time you’re traveling by carrying all of your toiletries in a stylish Dopp kit that has all of the essentials!

 

“There’s something charming about an old Dopp kit–the smell of your old cologne, the knicks and scuffs of travel–and maybe one day your kids will fight over it. Having a plan for a dopp kit, or having one at the ready, will make your travels much more enjoyable, and your ability to look and feel your best intact.” – Andrew from Dappered

 

7 thoughts on “The Dopp Kit

  1. Nice little site, Zack! I found you shirt tailoring video on YouTube and thought it was great. I am a beginning seamstress, and while learning to sew for myself, I’d like to be able to sew for my husband too, but realize that I know very little about men’s fashion. I like how your site has lots of regular manly tips; I’ve already learned 3 new things just in a couple posts. It’s great-keep it going!

    • That’s really awesome to hear!! :) Thanks for sharing. I’m glad that it has been helpful for you (and beneficial to your husband haha). Stay tuned for a video on how to hem pants with a sewing machine in the near future as well.

  2. Hello Mr. SackPyle I also happened to see your video on how to taylor your own shirt. I happened to have many of them that are to baggy for me and I just spend a lot of money on tailoring at Northrooom rack since. I will have to try your technique and God I hope it works for me too because if it does, i will love you for ever. :) Yes I would love to learn how to hem my pants too the easy way I am sure you have a tip for that and hope you do that fast because i have some pants to fix. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

